History Faculty of Medicine University of Brawijaya


Faculty of Medicine University of Brawijaya originated from a private medical school called “Sekolah Tinggi Kedokteran Malang” (STKM) which was established on 14 September 1963. Nevertheless, medical education had been known in Malang city 17 years earlier. On 1946, It had gathered most of the teaching staff of ex – medical school in Surabaya NIAS (Nederlands Indische Artsen School), STOVIT (School Tot Opleidig Van Indische Tandartsen), advanced students ex – IKA DAIGAKU/SHIKA IGAKUBU (name for medical school/dentistry when Japanese occupation) of Jakarta and Surabaya and their staff personnel. This Association was committed to continue medical and dental education through the establishment of the Higher Education Center for Medicine/Dentistry in February 1946 by utilizing the Army Hospital in Celaket Division VII (now RSUD dr . Saiful Anwar Malang) and General Hospital in Sukun (now DAM V/Brawijaya/RSAD Soepraoen Hospital). From Education Center of Medicine/Dentistry Malang was born 12 graduates of the first dentists in the Republic of Indonesia who came from universities in the country.

On June 1947, Malang Center College of Medicine was forced to suspend operations after the Dutch had occupied the city of Malang. After the Dutch surrender sovereignty to the Republic of Indonesia, medical education then continued in Jakarta and Surabaya with more complete facilities and personnel.

PTKM Establishment and STKM Ebb and Flow

Thought to re-establish a medical school in Malang reappeared in 1960-1962. With the support of community leaders Malang at that time, an ad hoc committee of the “Ikatan Dokter Indonesia” Malang initiated the formation of the Faculty of Medicine Founders Committee. Over the full support of civilian authorities and the military in the city of Malang, then it might be inaugurated the opening of “Perguruan Tinggi Kedokteran Malang” (PTKM) on September 14th, 1963 by the Minister of Health May.Jen. dr. Satrio and accommodated 105 students of the first batch. On March 18th, 1964 PTKM was changed and once registered in the Ministry of Higher Education with No. 76/B.swt/P/64 Sekolah of Medicine Malang (STKM). On May 1964, when the University of Brawijaya held a consolidation, STKM was offered to join, but STKM still choose to be private. After this period, the ebb and flow happened in the life of STKM.

Nationalization of STKM

Since its establishment on 14 September until nationalization on 1 January 1974, the dean STKM had changed 5 times, that respectively was dr. Sambiono, dr . G. Djauhar, dr. P. Mamahit, back to dr. G. Djauhar, and dr. Moedarso.

Finally, on January 1st, 1974 came out SK Men.Dik.Bud No. 001/0/1974 about nationalization and its inauguration held by the Ministry itself on February 23rd, 1974 together with XI University of Brawijaya Anniversary. Finally, on January 14th, 1974, STKM officially joined University of Brawijaya with state university status and renamed the Faculty of Medicine University of Brawijaya.

Secretariat of Faculty of Medicine University of Brawijaya

At the time of nationalization Faculty of Medicine University of Brawijaya physically did not have a campus. Until 1975 the office/Secretariat was in the GAPEROMA building Jl. Bromo 25 Malang. After that the secretariat moved to Jl. Guntur 1 occupied the former UB office. The next year after UB office built, the office moved again occupied drawing room of the Faculty of Engineering.

Lecture and Practicum

Lecture and practicum which were originally used IKIP Malang facility, in 1975 began using the laboratory of the Faculty of Agriculture and Faculty of Engineering, anatomy lab was still in RST. Soepraoen jl. Sukun. For the Lecture Room, some laboratories still used rooms lent by RS dr.Saiful Anwar.


The tests to increase the level of UB Medical students still carried by NB/CMS (National Board Medical Sciences Consortium) that was E1, E2, E3A, E3B, then to be able to follow the co-ass (DM) had to pass the E4a exam. After Faculty had as many as 53 full-time lecturers and 36 part-time lecturers, the NB/CMS with a letter dated July 21st, 1976, No. 446/DN/1976 authorized the Faculty of Medicine UB to test medical doctors themselves. With such an authority, the student at the time of nationalization amounted 765 students with 426 young doctors who had passed the NB/CMS – E3B/E4a exam, could be completed in 2.5 years. Considered at the time of nationalization only 1 doctor STKM generated and 30 doctors resulted from NB/CMS exam, mean that since 1976 all doctors were Faculty of Medicine UB exam results.

Faculty of Medicine Accreditation

To determine its status, Faculty of Medicine had to be accredited by National Accreditation Board for Higher Education. Currently the Faculty of Medicine had accredited and get an A with a letter No.003/BAN – PT/Ak – XI/S1/2008.


Laboratory of Biochemistry and Biomolecular History

College of Medicine, Malang (STKM) stand 1963. At that time, Head of the Laboratory of Biochemistry is dr. Iskandar, deputy dr. Supardan, and members dr. Widodo, dr.Sri Hidayati S, dr. Teja Sasmita, dr.M.Yahya, Dra. Inggrit Mariawati, dr. Suharjito, dr. Wimpi, dr. Bambang Parjianto.

At the time nationalization STKM became FK. UB 1974, Head of Biochemistry Lab is still dr. Iskandar, deputy is dr. Supardan, and staff grew Dra.Ritati Apt, but dr.Suharjito and dr.Wimpi moved to the RSU. In 1984, Head of the Laboratory of Biochemistry is the deputy dr.Teja dr.Supardan Sasmita and added two new staff Dr.Bambang Prijadi and drg.Setyohadi. When it became faculty, other faculty Subjects covered biochemically distinguished Biochemistry Lab is a breeding faculty, faculty of fishing, Nutrition academy, academy nurse and midwifery school. When covering fisheries and animal husbandry, no staff of fisheries, Ir. Susilo Bambang Widodo and faculty farms Ir. Suharjono. In the 1990s, it does not cover the fisheries and animal husbandry.

After the period expires dr.Supardan leadership, Head of Biochemistry lab began alternated each successive period is dr. Supardan (1974-1994), dr.Sri Hidayati S. (1994-1998, 1998-2002), dr.Widodo (2002-2006), dr. Sri Hidayati S. (2006-2007), Dr.Bambang Prijadi (2007-2009), and now dr.Hidayat.Sujuti, PhD., SpM (2009-2013, 2013-2017). In 2005, there was a unification of Biochemistry and Biomolecular In this regard, the addition of staff and some staff Biochemistry dr.Syaiful Anwar moved to hospitals.